jfb-generaluse-delete-board [Jcink.com Wiki]

JFH >> General Use >> Delete Board

You may want to delete your board from the server for many reasons.

The simple answer is: you can't. Boards themselves cannot be erased from the server by you. There is really no reason to completely delete a board from the server, and we'll explain why and provide an alternative below.

Why

The reasons are pretty much the same as to why you cannot change your board name. We do realize many people wish to delete their forums to help us save space - we thank you for the consideration, however, most boards take up very little space on the server, so we do not mind your board hanging around.

Alternatives

Simply turn the board into “Offline” mode via the Admin CP. You don't need to delete your board to shut it down because of this feature.

This completely shuts down the entire forum, and this is how you should close down your site if you are truly done with it. Offline mode does not delete the forum - it just puts it to “sleep.” No one can access it except administrators such as you, and others you have granted to view the board in offline mode. In fact, if you change your mind, you can simply turn it back online again one day.

To turn a board offline, go to Admin CP → System Settings → Board On/Off

 
jfb-generaluse-delete-board.txt · Last modified: 2011/11/04 10:30 by jcink