personal_messager [Jcink.com Wiki]

Personal Messager

Privacy Warning - All personal messages are logged in the database. Even with PM Logging disabled (which only affects the Administrator's ability to read messages from the Admin Control Panel), Administrators can take a copy of their database at any time and use 3rd party tools (like Xampp with PHPMyAdmin) to read the database (including personal messages).

Please do not send anything through PM that you wouldn't want an admin reading/knowing.

How do I save a draft?

When you are composing a new personal message to someone, below the text area you enter your message in, there is a button marked “Save (Send Later)”. If you click that button the message will be stored in the “Saved/Unsent” section.

How do I see my sent items?

You will only be able to see your sent items if you check the textbox “Add a copy of this message to my sent items folder” when you are composing your message. Messages that were sent without this box being checked are not stored in the sent box. If you have a message limit, saving a message to your sent items box also counts towards the total number of messages you can save.

After a message (with the checkbox to save a copy) has been sent, you can view your sent message by:

  1. Clicking “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. On the left, in the menu, clicking “Sent items”.
  3. On this page, it will list all the messages you have elected to save after sending. From here you can click the name of the message to see what it contained.

How do I see my saved drafts?

Afer you have clicked the “Save (Send Later)” button to save a message you were working on, you can load it later by:

  1. Clicking “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. On the left, in the menu, clicking “Saved (Unsent) PMs”.
  3. On this page, it will list all the messages you have elected to save after sending. From here you can click the name of the message to load the message and resume composing.
  4. Once you have resumed composing you can send the message or click “Save (Send Later)” to save it back into the drafts.

How do I add friends?

Adding users to your friends list is an easy way to quickly PM them.

To add someone to your friends list:

  1. Click “My Friends” (located on the userlinks, usually to the far right of where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. A popup will now open (if you have popups enabled. If not then you will need to enable the site to open popups in your browser settings.)
  3. Inside the popup, underneath the “Add to User Lists” heading you will see a textbox. Enter the username of the person you want to add here. (Names are not case sensitive here so “Name” is the same as “name”.)
  4. Then make sure the dropdown menu (beside the textbox mentioned in the previous step) is set of “Add to friends”
  5. Then click “Submit”.
  6. The user will then be added to your friends list, the popup will refresh and you can add another user to your list if you'd like.

Alternatively you can also access the “My Friends” pop up from inside the “My Controls” page. (It will appear on the left, under the heading “Messenger”.) The process to add friends here is identical to the one listed above. (This is simply an alternate link in case the friends link in the userlinks section gets removed via a javascript code.)

How do I add folders for different messages?

Adding folders allows you to easily organise messages you receive to locate them later.

To add a new folder:

  1. Click “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. On the left, click “Edit Storage Folders”
  3. On the page that loads it will list your current folders (including “inbox” and “sent items” which can't be removed, though they can be renamed by altering what is in their text boxes), below the heading “Add New Virtual Directories” there will be 3 text boxes. Enter the name for the new folder in the first box (or add one name per box to add up to 3 new directories).
  4. Then click the “Submit Changes” button.

How do I delete a message folder?

Warning - removing a folder with messages stored inside may not delete those messages (see notes). And you will not be presented with a warning before removing a folder.

  1. Click “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. On the left, click “Edit Storage Folders”.
  3. On the page that loads it will list your current folders (including “inbox” and “sent items” which can't be removed), to delete a folder simply remove it's name from the textbox (so the textbox is blank).
  4. Then click the “Submit Changes” button.
Notes
  1. Messages that are deleted by deleting a folder may not be removed, they may still count towards message limits. If this happens, create another folder with a similar name and transfer a message to it. Then either transfer or delete those messages before deleting the folder itself.

How do I move messages to another folder?

  1. Click “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. Click the folder name (listed on the left) you want to enter.
  3. Beside the messages in that folder, you will see checkboxes on the right. Click the checkboxes for each message you want to move.
  4. Then at the bottom of the table you will see a button named “Move to” beside a dropdown. Set the dropdown to the folder you want the messages to be moved to.
  5. Then click the “Move to” button to move them.

How do I get a backup of my messages?

  1. Click “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. On the left, click “Archive Messages”.
  3. Now you will be presented with some options, including:
    1. a dropdown to select Which folder you want to archive.
    2. a dropdown to select the date and if you want messages older or newer than that (ex- if you only want messages from the last 30 days or only want messages older than 30 days archived. )
    3. a dropdown to select the number of messages to archive (between: 5, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 100 and 1000.)
    4. a dropdown to set whether messages should be deleted after being archived or not.
    5. a dropdown to choose how you want the archive to be presented. (Either as an HTML file that can be opened in any web browser or a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet.)
  4. After setting the options to your preference, click the “Process” button.
  5. You will then receive an email (on the email address attached to your account) with that file containing your stored messages (in the file type you wanted) attached. (You may need to check spam folders for this message.) Save this file to a location on your computer.

How do I know if my sent message has been read?

You can only tell if a message has been read or not if you click the checkbox beside “Track this message?” (so that it's checked off) before you send the message. If this setting has not been checked then you cannot tell if your message has been read or not (at least unless the user replies to your message).

You can check to see which messages (that have had that checkbox marked off) by:

  1. Clicking “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. On the left, clicking “Message Tracker”.
  3. This page will display all messages that you've sent (and are being tracked). It will show: the message's name, who it was sent to and when the message was read or when the message was sent (for messages that haven't been read yet).
Notes
  1. Messages that are deleted by the recipient will be removed from your tracking list (regardless of whether they've been read or not).
  2. You cannot view the contents of messages here, if you want to see what you've sent then you have to save a copy in your sent items first.

How do I delete messages?

  1. Click “My Controls” or “New Messages” from the userlinks (beside where it says “logged in as: your username”).
  2. Click the folder name (listed on the left, in the menu) you want to enter.
  3. Beside the messages in that folder, you will see checkboxes on the right. Click the checkboxes for each message you want to move.
  4. Then at the bottom of the table click the button titled “delete”.
Warnings
  1. You will not receive a warning asking you if you're certain, the messages will just be erased. So be certain you want to do this prior to clicking.
  2. Messages deleted may not be recovered. So be certain you want them erased before clicking delete.
 
personal_messager.txt · Last modified: 2013/12/12 21:45 by viruszero